New FatCat podcast online now - Bill Morrison

We are excited to announce that acclaimed US director Bill Morrison has compiled the latest mixtape in our podcast series, in anticipation of today’s release of his beautiful new film, the found-footage documentary The Miners’ Hymns.

Maintaining the high standard and eclectic personal choices of the series, Bill has donated us a collection of ‘Summertime Blues’ tracks, naming his mix the same in doing so. Click play on the embedded Mixcloud player above or download directly through iTunes here to play.

Says Bill:

Summertime Blues. I tried to find a mix that flowed through different genres and eras, but always using rhythm to narcotic effect, with some melancholy feeling like a summer day is passing away before you. This a soundtrack to that day, and its passing.

1) Phase en sauce, Florent Ghys
2) Triggering Back, Benoit Pioulard
3) Excess Strausses, The Books
4) It’s Summertime, Flaming Lips
5) Lonely Woman, Horace Silver
6) Chief Crazy Horse, Wayne Shorter
7) There Was A Time (I Got To Move), James Brown
8) The Look of Love, Isaac Hayes
9) Born Slippy (Nuxx), Underworld
10) Blue Pepper (Far East of the Blues), Duke Ellington

Bill Morrison‘s latest film The Miners’ Hymns was scored by FatCat / 130701’s Icelandic composer Johann Johannsson. The beautiful soundtrack album of the same name can be purchased from the FatCat webstore. The Miners’ Hymns DVD is available to purchase from today by following this link.

The Arts Desk recently reviewed both film and soundtrack here

4 years ago



Subscribe to our RSS feed to keep upto date on all Fatcat events, releases & shop offers.


Fat-Cat Press Fat-Cat Demo Site
Top / .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) / +44 (0)1273 699020
© Fatcat Records Ltd

Designed by Tedra
Powered by Sandbag