Milk Maid - ‘Not Me’ Out Today On Digital Download

“Tapping on raw and edgy recording techniques that sound more like the inside of a skip than a recording studio (or in this case, a flat), the album offers a collection of easygoing pop songs twisted with a side order of dark, loitering anger and unpredictability.” 4/5 Artrocker

“Single Of The Week” Bowlegs

“With the eleven tracks on offer here having been so lovingly crafted and beautifully executed, it's hard to see Yucca as anything other than a triumph.”The Skinny

“Yucca is blissed out, fuzzed up indie-pop at it’s DIY best… One of the albums of the year so far.” 5/5 Narc

Our first offering to you by Manchester band Milk Maid is this digital single which you can buy in our web store.

Not Me (from ‘Yucca’) is backed with an exclusive b-side, That’s Not Thinking. 'Not Me' is typical of the albums easy élan, with 60's girl group melodies, reminiscent of The Crystals – but these breezy elements sit amongst Jesus And Mary Chain-like fuzz and choppy John Densmore-esque drums. ‘That’s Not Thinking’ matches a Violent Femmes/Crooked Rain-era Pavement tempo and giddyness to snarling vocals and a bleary ending guitar solo.

Milk Maid are currently on tour, so catch them live THIS WEEK here

13 June – Henry’s Cellar Bar, Edinburgh, UK
14 June – Mad Ferret, Preston, UK FREE GIG
15 June – Jam, Brighton, UK
16 June – Shaklewell Arms, London, UK
17 June – Soup Kitchen, Manchester, UK
23 July – Tramlines Festival, Sheffield, UK

And watch the video for Not Me here

4 years ago



Subscribe to our RSS feed to keep upto date on all Fatcat events, releases & shop offers.


Fat-Cat Press Fat-Cat Demo Site
Top / .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) / +44 (0)1273 699020
© Fatcat Records Ltd

Designed by Tedra
Powered by Sandbag